With the passage of AB 1949, California joins a short but growing list of states that now mandate bereavement leave. AB 1949 amends the California Family Rights Act (“CFRA”), and starting January 1, 2023, employers will be required to provide eligible employees up to five days of unpaid bereavement leave upon the death of a family member. “Family member” includes a child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, parent-in-law or domestic partner.Continue Reading California Mandates Five Days of Unpaid Bereavement Leave
Ashley D. Stein is an Associate in Vedder Price’s Los Angeles office and a member of the firm’s Labor & Employment group.
Paid Time Off Requirements
As of July 1, 2022, West Hollywood, California, home to the famous Sunset Strip and Melrose shopping district, is now one of a handful of cities in California that requires employers to provide paid time off to employees (rather than just paid sick time).
West Hollywood’s Minimum Wage Ordinance, passed late last year, requires that qualifying employees who work at least two hours of work per week in the City are entitled to paid time off. Full-time employees who work at least 40 hours per week are entitled to 96 hours of paid time off per year, totaling 12 full days off. The time is pro-rated for employees who work less than 40 hours per week.Continue Reading West Hollywood Requires Paid Leave and Hikes Minimum Wage